winter.sessions » some.ideas

As I sit here cuddled up in my blanket hand-knit by my mom, sipping some tea to ward of the chill of this -20 degree day, I began to think about winter.  I know most photographers refer to winter as the “slow months” or the “off season.”  But I don’t really let winter slow me down.  I showed you last month that you can have an adorable session even in winter with J+J’s Library Engagement.

j+j » des moines, iowa library engagement

I’d like to share with you some ideas I’ve got for snowy shoots and indoor beauty that can lend itself well to winter sessions.

1. Blankets.  How cute is this photo in the snow? I’d love to take some senior photos with a gorgeous quilt or knitted blanket!  (*hint hint*)

Or what about this lovely engagement session? Everyone looks cute cuddled up with their loved one!

2. Coffee shops.  If you know me, you know I am a sucker for coffee shops.  When I was in school it was my dream to own a coffee shop/used book store combo.  Let’s meet up for a warm mug of whatever you like and take some photos!

This photo from Mike Monaghan inspired me for a senior shoot I did a couple years ago for a coffee lover; I just adore it!

I also fell in love with this window shot of an adorable couple!

3. Botanical Gardens.  Let’s escape the cold and pretend it’s not actually winter by visiting a botanical garden for your session!  Between Ames’ Reiman Gardens and the Botanical Garden in Des Moines, we can do a green, leafy, flowery, warm, session even in the middle of the cold Iowa winter!

I love this shot from Tom Harmon Photography – too cute!

Or this engagement shoot from Tiff Photography!

This would be a great location for some winter senior sessions too! Let’s make it happen! 🙂

I’ve got a great senior special going on this month, and I’ll be posting some other specials in the next day or two as well! Don’t hesitate to call me just because it’s cold out 🙂

becca » winter by amanda.matilda.photography

info@amandamatildaphotography.com
515.570.0473
Or message me on Facebook!

Leave your thoughts!

