spool.table » renovation

I mentioned the other day that we started our city’s Spring Cleaning month this week.  I use these weeks to pick up cool items to use as photo props, and I occasionally find something to revamp and use around the house.

This week I found a cool cable spool that I wanted to turn into an end table!

The spool started off pretty bland:

spool1But it had a lot of potential.  As I mentioned, I got this one for free on junk day.  I’ve seen some at our local Goodwill on occasion, too, though.  Keep your eye out at thrift stores and garage sales and you never know what you’ll find!

I started off by sanding down all the wooden surfaces.  I have a sanding block I bought at Menards for only a couple dollars.

sanding blockOnce all the surfaces were even and softened, and the bits of dirt were off, I applied a wood stain.

stain

I bought this stain at Hobby Lobby for $7.99.  I wanted a dark look for the wood, so I chose the Dark Walnut color, but they had other lighter options available.  For such a relatively small area I found that this can was much cheaper than going to Menards or Lowe’s for stain.

Here’s what it looks like stained!

stain before & after

Next, I bought two things of rope from Menards on sale for about 5 dollars each.

ropeI used that around the core of the spool to add some decorative touches. (It is a spool after all!)  Here is the finished product!

1

Aaaaand the final before/after shot:b & a
Thanks for reading and DFTBA! 🙂

3 thoughts on “spool.table » renovation

Leave your thoughts!

